older
contact
profile
diaryland

05-14-05 - 10:18 a.m.

yesterday, as i sat doing the receiving paperwork, carey the bike assembler aka seymour cassel stood silently at the desk with a tablet and pen.
"hi carey. what's up?"
"i've got to order bikes," he says, and continues to stand there. (keep in mind, the bikes are out on the salesfloor. in the toy department.)
"so...," i say, "why are you here?"
he just looks at me. "you know why i'm here," he says, mysteriously but matter-of-factly.
i decide to take a bold but simple step. "look," i tell him, "i'm tired of this verbal foreplay. i really think you ought to go poo-poo or get off the pot."
he laughs hilariously. "i get you," he says, and strolls off to order bikes.
later, when i'm leaving, he's waiting at the timeclock. he walks me to my car, and like every man i've ever known, pauses to inspect the inside. he lights a cigarette and looks at me.
"it's going to happen," he tells me. "eventually, it's going to happen, so just resign yourself."
"what's going to happen?" i ask.
he shrugs. "you and me."
hmmmm. now we're getting somewhere. "that's what you want?"
"yes," he answers simply. "don't you?"
how can i argue with simple logic like that? it's so damn... refreshing! we stand at my car, discussing how he intends to leave the infamous wendy. too much of a gentleman to put her out in the street, he will buy a fifth wheel, park it somewhere, and promptly invite me over for dinner. then, he adds, he will have me for dessert. after that, he intends to build a deck around my house, and install a hot tub. he has obviously given these plans alot of thought, probably during the assembly of many bicycles, and i am stunned by the blunt, offhand vision of this quiet, reticent man.
"i need to see your place," he announces, and promptly follows me home where we share a beer or two, look at my horse, and design this deck he intends to build. we kiss, and it's pretty damn breathtaking. in fact, he bruises my lip.
"chemistry," he notes in his casual, off-hand way, and goes home.

previous - next