older
contact
profile
diaryland

03-26-05 - 7:34 a.m.

the conway driver called last night and we talked for two hours. his name is john (like my second husband), he's a libra (like my first husband), an ex-marine, an old altar boy, slightly philosophical and very opinionated. he hates the french because of their stand on the war. (get a load of the eiffel tower on my ankle, buddy!) like me, he's been married twice...at least that's what i thought until he shamefully sprang a third one on me last night- a brief rebound thing to fill the sucking chest wound the second wife left behind when she ran off with his heart. although he's been driving trucks forever, he doesn't believe truckers know the best places to eat. in fact, he doesn't like other truckers at all. why? because they're philosophical and opinionated. we debated a long time about where to meet- it was a toss-up between the buttery debacle of maine lobster at boomtown or wholesome goodness at ihop-yes, ihop- and i then i boldly offered to cook- yes, the maven can cook. think plain, he told me. nothing exotic.
so i'm sitting here, blowing dust off an ancient cookbook, and BOEUF BOURGUIGNONNE catches my eye. it's plain, sure, but it's also very... french.
my, we're off to a groovy start.

previous - next