older
contact
profile
diaryland

01-30-05 - 9:43 a.m.

it occurred to me that i haven't extolled the glories of grandmotherhood much here. it's not a matter of vanity, although i do refuse to wear one of those #1 grandma sweatshirts covered in birdhouses and laminated pics of the bambino on my walmart vest. and i'd rather take the kid to a springsteen concert or an ingmar bergman film than bake cookies and sew. so yes, i'm a granny of my own making, unusual, but a good one, with a kindly heart the size of the parisian metro system, but honestly, berries brought the CHILD FROM HELL into the world. for the last two months, this baby has done nothing but sleep in 15 minute increments and scream until she's purple. i've got photos of her tonsils. there were moments when i really didn't like her, especially after a long day of scan scan bag bag, when poor exhausted berries would rush to me in tears; "here, take her, i can't stand my own child!"
well, kids, yesterday, in a fast food place called jimboys, the child from hell looked at me from her car seat, gave me a huge gummy smile, and cooed. cancel the exorcist.

previous - next