older
contact
profile
diaryland

04-24-04 - 11:19 a.m.

greetings from fallon, nevada, home of top gun pilots and award winning cantelopes. two weeks ago, i left behind california, alot of meaningless furnishings and the man i'll always love and moved to an acre of sand and tumbleweeds, just off highway 50, which is called the loneliest road in america. for someone who has spent a lifetime traveling the lonely map of the human heart, i find this laughlingly ironic. my house is big, with plenty of room for my berries and her beau spencer and the baby due to arrive by thanksgiving. each morning i stand under the endless nevada sky, admiring my acre of heaven, astounded by my accomplishment. now that the midlife stagnation is gone, i have an endless checklist of goals. after the job hunt, i intend to shop for new window coverings and a horse. paint my bedroom yellow. buy a swingset. take a writing course at the college. oh, and become the coolest grandma on the planet.

previous - next