older
contact
profile
diaryland

07-11-03 - 9:00 p.m.

the 'boy is hospitalized, a physical mess; nitro for his heart and iv's for infections. i left the hotel in the hands of a green clerk and raced to his bedside today, determined, in an offhand and witty way, to let him know that i care, but i am not the new pasture the old hoss was looking for. so i walk in and he's wearing one of those backless gowns and he's hooked up to dripping tubes and beeping monitors and he's got the eyes of a wounded deer...and he nails me with this fix-me-or-finish-me look. and dammit, i hold his hand, and he introduces me to the nurses as his wife, and after they leave, he looks at me with a sheepish smile and says; darlin', do you know how ecstatic i was to find you, internet dumpster divin'?

previous - next