older
contact
profile
diaryland

02-09-03 - 9:41 a.m.

wine charm guy, soon to be my boss, brought his wife by to be introduced. she was slim and pretty and shook hands weakly, with just her fingertips. i hate that. the moment she left the lobby, he tried to touch me. i jumped like a spooked cat. he called later to ask why.

it was awkward, i told him.

it's a reality, he answered.

fucking me is not a reality, i shot back.

that's fine, he said, but i'm human, and my marriage is in turmoil so i think about it alot.

rattled, i ran for the sanctity of home and was midway through a bottle of cheap valpolacella, chanting

i am not worldly

i am not worldly

when patrick called.

i hate men, i blurted, what do you want?

i love you, he laughed, and i'll be over in fifteen minutes.

he made it in ten, and silently swept me up in his arms.

i'm drunk, i told him. i taste like cheap wine.

delicious, he answered.

previous - next